Project HOPE

Project HOPE: A scholarship fund sponsoring access to school-based mental health care for students of HSE Schools.

Project Hope was founded in the fall of 2019, a few years after the partnership between Hamilton Southeastern Schools and Community Health Network was formed. There was a noticeable gap in services for students that did not have insurance coverage, and therefore were unable to access care. A group of passionate advocates and community organizations, including Hamilton Southeastern Education Foundation, The Peyton Riekhof Foundation, Fishers Youth Assistance Program, and Optimist Club of Fishers, came together to work towards a solution.

Through generous donations from local non-profits, grant funding, and other community-sponsored fundraisers, Project Hope has provided 53 students access to more than 600 school-based mental health session services since it began in 2019.

Students can be referred for the scholarship by school staff or Community Health therapists in the building. In order to qualify, the student must not have any active insurance, or their insurance may not have mental health coverage. There must also be demonstrated financial need. The scholarship committee reviews applications and approves students to begin services.

Students may discontinue use of scholarship funding when any of the following criteria are met: student obtains active insurance, student successfully meets treatment goals and no longer requires the service, or the student/family choose to discontinue services.



  • 23 students referred for program pilot year
  • 153 individual, family, and group therapy services provided


  • 16 new students referred since August 2020
  • 254 individual, family, and group therapy services provided


  • 11 new students referred since August 2021
  • 219 individual, family, and group therapy services provided


  • 3 new students referred since August 2022

To contribute to Project HOPE, please complete the form below:

Project HOPE is made possible through support by local community partners including: